Current Latest News

SEC Announces 2021 Women’s Basketball Postseason Awards

SEC Announces 2021 Women's Basketball Postseason Awards

7 hours ago

Photo: Eddie Justice/UK Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — The Southeastern Conference announced its 2021 women’s basketball postseason awards Tuesday.

Kentucky’s Rhyne Howard was named Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. She was named Freshman of the Year in 2019.

Ole Miss’ Madison Scott was named Freshmen of the Year. Georgia’s Que Morrison, and Aliyah Boston from South Carolina were named Co-Defensive Players of the Year. The 6th Woman of the Year award went to Texas A&M’s Destiny Pitts while Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors went to her Aggie teammate Ciera Johnson.

Georgia’s Joni Taylor was named Coach of the Year. This is Taylor’s first SEC Coach of the Year honor.

First-team and second-team All-SEC honorees, All-Freshman team, All-Defensive team, along with Player, Coach and Freshman, Defensive Player, 6th Player and Scholar-Athlete of the Year were chosen by the league’s 14 coaches.

The complete 2021 SEC Women’s Basketball Postseason Awards follow.

First Team All-SEC

Jasmine Walker, Alabama

Chelsea Dungee, Arkansas

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Khayla Pointer, LSU

Shakira Austin, Ole Miss

Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

Zia Cooke, South Carolina

Rennia Davis, Tennessee

N’dea Jones, Texas A&M

Second Team All-SEC

Jordan Lewis, Alabama

Unique Thompson, Auburn

Destiny Slocum, Arkansas

Lavender Briggs, Florida

Jenna Staiti, Georgia

Aijha Blackwell, Missouri

Rae Burrell, Tennessee

Aaliyah Wilson, Texas A&M


Romi Levy, Auburn

Jordyn Merritt, Florida

Sarah Ashlee Barker, Georgia

Snudda Collins, Ole Miss

Madison Scott, Ole Miss

Madison Hayes, Mississippi State

Mama Dembele, Missouri

Marta Suárez, Tennessee


Que Morrison, Georgia

Khayla Pointer, LSU

Chasity Patterson, Kentucky

Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

Tamari Key, Tennessee

Player of the Year – Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Freshman of the Year – Madison Scott, Ole Miss

Co-Defensive Players of the Year – Que Morrison, Georgia & Aliyah Boston, South Carolina

6th Woman of the Year – Destiny Pitts, Texas A&M

Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Ciera Johnson, Texas A&M

Coach of the Year – Joni Taylor, Georgia

Source link

Related posts

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy